RSS Feed

Eleven Things (a blog challenge)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI have been snowed under with work lately, so I am daydreaming at the moment of travelling to a beautiful sunny and peaceful place like this one in the picture above (the photo was taken last summer in Varadero, Cuba by my friend Milena M.). 

The recent blog chain challenge is a nice way to finish off my first year of blogging. I am happily joining it because reading some interesting (random) facts about the people of my PLN is really fun and enjoyable. I want to thank Anne Hendler (one of the most friendly, generous and supportive people of my PLN) who tagged me, so I am sharing 11 things about myself and answering her 11 questions.

Let’s see what the task includes:

  1. Acknowledge the nominating blogger.
  2. Share 11 random facts about yourself.
  3. Answer the 11 questions the nominating blogger has created for you.
  4. List 11 bloggers.
  5. Post 11 questions for the bloggers you nominate to answer, and let all the bloggers know they have been nominated. Don’t nominate a blogger who has nominated you.

 

Eleven random facts about me

  1. My self-quote: Two most important ingredients of happiness are passion and grit.
  2. My greatest passions are books, music (especially classical music) and dancing. I also love watching good films (and Woody Allen’s films are really great).
  3. When I was 18 years old I dreamt about being a pianist or a composer since I had been playing the piano for ten years then. Later I studied languages (English and Italian) and I have been working for about 17 years as an English language teacher at Aviation academy (technical high school).
  4. I love the music (prosody) of the language.  Listening to the sounds and intonation of various languages is a real pleasure for me. My favourite English words are: ‘mesmerizing’, ‘lighthouse’, ‘happiness’ and ‘muse’.
  5. This made me laugh a few days ago when my (not a very good) student changed the verb ‘cut’: CUT – CAT – CAT (but it sounds good ) 🙂
  6. I have been writing for four years now an Aviation English coursebook (Navigation, Air Traffic Control and Meteorology). I hope to finish it in a few months.
  7. It’s amazing that the European satellite navigation system was named ‘Galileo’, because Galileo Galilei is one of the scientists I most admire.
  8. I have always been fascinated by Simone de Beauvoir and Jean-Paul Sartre, and their great generous love and unconventional lifestyle.
  9. I don’t like generalizations, stereotypes and prejudices. I also don’t like when people are too noisy and impolite.
  10. I am very fond of fruit salads or any other kind of salads, and sea food as well. When I really feel like cooking I prefer experimenting and thinking up my own recipes.
  11. I regularly go to the gym. At weekends I enjoy going for long walks, taking photos of clouds, or having a cup of coffee and chatting with my friends in a café.

 

Pictures_2013. 245

 

 

My answers to Anne’s questions

1. What was your very first job?

I worked as an English teacher at a Medical high school.

2. What is your most valuable possession?

These possessions are really valuable because they mean a lot  to me: the books I love, my laptop, my perfume(s), my grandfather’s beautiful paintings, my collection of sea-shells, some very old letters and music scripts.

3. Where do you want to go to retire?

I haven’t thought about this yet, but I think I’ll live in Belgrade when I retire. I love to spend a few days in the countryside but I prefer living in the city.

4. What is the most important thing you learned from your parents/parental figures?

I think honesty and altruism are the most important things I learned from my parents.

5. Mountains or Ocean?

I enjoy hiking in the hills or mountains when I am on holiday. I took the photo below seven years ago while I was hiking in the hills of the beautiful Greek island Thassos.

TASOS, LIMENAS 078

6.   Most beautiful thing you have ever seen?

A photo of the Earth taken from space. I wish I could take a picture of our magnificent planet myself.

7.  What’s your favorite blog post you’ve written?

‘Challenges of Introducing/Using  CLT in Serbian Public Schools’ is my favourite blog post (which doesn’t mean that it is a very good post, I’m just the most emotional about it). I had been thinking a lot whether to post it or not, it was really daunting.

8. Favorite education quote?

“If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough.” (Albert Einstein)

 9Have you ever done something adventurous? Please share!

I’ve never tried anything such adventurous as sky-diving, hang gliding or bungee jumping. The most adventurous things I’ve ever done are travelling by plane, or hiking in the Durmitor mountains (really beautiful mountain range in Monte Negro with its highest peak of about 2,500 metres).

I think that I’ve always been more adventurous regarding my lifestyle, or my way of teaching (exploring and trying out new methods, encouraging creative and critical thinking in my pupils, and teaching them to discover the things by themselves).

10. The correct number of hours of sleep is _____ in 24.

The correct number of hours of sleep is seven in 24.

11. What is something you do that has absolutely no connection to TESOL?

I sometimes do translations (this is something that has nothing to do with my teaching, I guess).

 

Eleven nominees

GordanaPopović

@cgoodey

@GeoffreyJordan

@michaelegriffin

@vickyloras

@rosemerebard

@adi_rajan

@kevchanwow

@muranava 

@jo_cummins

@wilma_luth 

 

I come to this challenge late and I’m sorry if the people I’ve chosen have already been tagged. I would like to thank ‘my greatest 11’ for their interesting, inspirational and insightful blog posts.

Please answer my questions only if you have time and feel like it. 🙂

My eleven questions

  1. What foreign languages do you speak?
  2. What is the most exciting thing about teaching?
  3. What is your favourite piece of art?
  4. What was your first favourite book when you were a child?
  5. Which quality would you like to change in yourself?
  6. What invention do you think has had the greatest impact on society? Why?
  7. If there were a time machine which period of history would you pick first and why?
  8. How much is life an adventure?
  9. What is your idea of an ideal holiday?
  10. What foods do you think are most romantic?
  11. What activity/hobby would you like to take up in 2014?

 

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: All about me | ELT Rants, Reviews, and Reflections

  2. Pingback: Tagged: in response to Rachael Roberts, Ljiljana Havran and Geoff Jordan | Carol Goodey

  3. Pingback: Eleven things – a blog challenge | No wind, no waves

Leave a Reply

