RSS Feed

The Simple Joy of Reading

The aim of the activities described in this post is to encourage the habit of reading books and to kindle imagination and creativity in your students. 

1.   READ AWESOMELY

I heard an interesting idea of writing a slogan promoting the habit of reading books at an ELT seminar I attended in Belgrade a few years ago. I used it as a warm-up activity with my intermediate / upper-intermediate level students and it  was fun and enjoyable. It can be introduced by the lovely video clip I have found recently on the Net – Open Up. Zone Out. Read On. After watching the video promoting reading, get the students to think up their own reading slogans.

The slogans promoting reading that you can read in this post have been created by my students during the last few years and by the teachers at the seminar when I heard the idea:

READ IMAGINE ENJOY

READING IN MY HEART

YOU READ KID

THE READER THE BETTER

THE BOOK READ THE MIND FED

READING MAKES YOU SMART

BE READY TO READ, READ TO BE READY

READ FOR LEISURE GAIN PLEASURE

EVEN A PAGE A DAY WILL MAKE YOU FEEL GREAT

READING IS ENCHANTING DAZZLING AMAZING

TODAY IS A WONDERFUL DAY TO READ SOMETHING NEW

AT HOME AT SCHOOL READING BOOKS IS COOL

2.   MY FAVOURITE READING QUOTE

Read some well-known quotes about reading below and choose the quote you like best, or the quote which is somehow related to you and your ‘reading personality’; then explain in a few sentences why you have chosen just that quote.

“Reading is dreaming with open eyes.”

-Unonymous-

 

“If one cannot enjoy reading a book over and over again, there is no use in reading it at all.”

-Oscar Wilde-

 

“Some books are to be tasted, others to be swallowed, and some few to be chewed and

digested.”

-Francis Bacon-

“But for my own part, if a book is well written, I always find it too short.”

-Jane Austen-

“There is no frigate like a book to take us lands away.”

-Emily Dickinson-

 

“You should only read what is truly good or what is frankly bad.”

-Gertrude Stein to Ernest Hemingway-

 

“A book must be an ice-axe to break the seas frozen inside our soul.”

-Franz Kafka-

 

“Never lend books, for no one returns them; the only books I have in my library are books that other folks have lent me.”

-Anatole France-

 

“It is with books as with men; a very small number play a great part.”

-Voltaire-

 

“There are two motives for reading a book; one that you enjoy it, the other that you can boast about it.”

-Bertrand Russell-OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

http://www.morguefile.com/

My favourite quote about reading books is:

If one cannot enjoy reading a book over and over again, there is no use in reading it at all.” (Oscar Wilde)

I have always loved reading books, and the books I really enjoy reading I have read so many times. My love of reading books started when I was six years old, and my first favourite books were: Heidi (Johanna Spyri) and The Last of Mohicans (James Fenimore Cooper). When I was very young I had a tendency to devour books without a pause, especially while on holiday. Lying in the sun on the beach reading a gripping book was a real bliss to me. When I was in my secondary school I loved reading fiction, as well as non-fiction (particularly books on astronomy), and I was very keen on science fiction books and films then. Since I studied English and Italian language and literature, I am very happy to be able to read the books I love in their original language. Nowadays, I spend a lot of time reading various study and pedagogy guides and reference books for my work with students (usually related to aviation), and I regret not having more free time for reading fiction and the books I read for pleasure.

3.   BOOKMASH

This is a creative writing activity in which your students write a poem using the titles of the books they love reading or have read recently. You can find o lot of wonderful ‘book spine poems’ on one of my favourite blogs.

This is my attempt to write such a poem (not so successful, I guess, but I really enjoyed writing this poem). Pictures_2013. 229

Book lover

The castle, the rainbow

The Picture of Dorian Gray,

Portrait of the artist,

Girl with a pearl earring,

The impressionists and their art,

History of beauty

In my heart

 

2 responses »

  1. Bookmash is a fantabulous idea 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

