RSS Feed

What Is Your Personal Theme Song?

This blog post was inspired by a great idea of writing about our personal theme song by Shelly Terrell and Vicky Loras. As I found it very difficult to choose just one personal theme song, I decided to write about a few songs or compositions I love listening to, either for pleasure, or because they remind me of some interesting moments in my life.

I have always loved music and languages, and I have always been interested in the correlation between music training and learning languages. The languages that I love most because of their intonation and rhythm are English and Italian. In fact, they have a very different sound system and prosody, but both languages are very melodious and sound really wonderful to me.

The first song I would like to mention here is the Italian song ‘Donna con te’. I was fascinated by the song the first time I heard it, about twenty years ago. It was because of Anna Oxa’s amazing performance and her beautiful voice, and, also, because I was studying Italian then and was in love with the Italian music, culture, and really beautiful language..

Quanti ricordi dietro me
li segnerò nel diario della vita…

 

 

The next composition which brings back fond memories too is Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto in E Minor. I’m very fond of the classical music (more accurate term for this type of music is ‘serious music’, actually, because the Classical period falls only between the Baroque and the Romantic period; the best-known composers of the period of classicism are Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven). Beethoven is the beginning of romantic music, but this Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto is the real wild kind of romanticism; like mystery, longing and joy at the same time.

 

When I am in a contemplative kind of mood I usually listen to Muse (I even like their name very much). This is an English alternative rock band mixing various music styles (hard rock, experimental rock, electronic music, classical music…). I have chosen their song ‘Bliss’ because of the really fantastic piano cover.

My idea of bliss is reading a good book, drinking a cup of strong black coffee (or tea) and listening to music I love.

 

The song ‘Eleanor Put Your Boots On’ by a great band Franz Ferdinand reminds me of my daydreaming (when I was a girl, and later too), and I can also remember sometimes flying in my dreams (as a matter of fact, it is not at all unusual that people can fly when sleeping, in their dreams…)

‘Every Teardrop Is A Waterfall’ by Coldplay is one of the most beautiful songs I have ever heard. If you are idealistic and ‘Somewhere Over the Rainbow’ dreamer, listen to the song and Enjoy!

I turn the music up, I got my records on
I shut the world outside until the lights come on
Maybe the streets alight, maybe the trees are gone
I feel my heart start beating to my favorite song
And all the kids they dance, all the kids all night
Until Monday morning feels another life
I turn the music up, I’m on a roll this time
And heaven is in sight
I turn the music up, I got my records on
From underneath the rubble sing a rebel song
Don’t want to see another generation drop
I’d rather be a comma than a full stop
Maybe I’m in the black, maybe I’m on my knees
Maybe I’m in the gap between the two trapezes
But my heart is beating and my pulses start
Cathedrals in my heart
And we saw, oh, this light, I swear you, emerge blinking into
To tell me it’s alright, as we soar walls, every siren is a symphony
And every tear’s a waterfall, is a waterfall, oh, is a waterfall,
Oh, is a, is a waterfall, every tear is a waterfall
So you can hurt, hurt me bad
But still I’ll raise the flag
It was a waaaterfall
A waaaterfall
Every tear, every tear, every teardrop is a waterfall
Every tear, every tear, every teardrop is a waterfall
….

About ljiljana havran

English language teacher (General & Aviation English), passionate about learning and teaching. Curious, adventurous, a lifelong learner. Love: good books, music, lots of dance.

3 responses »

  1. Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto in E Minor is indeed very moving. Do Shelly and Vicky suggest this as an activity for learners?

    Like

    Reply
    • Hi Adi,
      thanks for commenting and the like 🙂

      There are so many wonderful pieces of classical music, it was difficult to choose just one..

      This is, actually, Shelly Terrel’s idea ‘The 30 Goals Challenge for Educators’ and I was inspired by Vicky Loras great post ‘What Is Your Personal Theme Song? #30GoalsEdu’.
      I think this is a lovely idea and can be used with learners too, I’ll try it out with my students next term.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Pingback: The use of video as a starting point for a lesson | Ljiljana Havran - English language teacher

Leave a Reply

